Rabbis don't "bless" foods to make them Kosher

Kosher means "proper" and "fit for use." If a food is kosher, it means that it meets the standards of the Jewish law of Kashrut. It doesn't refer to a style of cooking, or mean the food is vegetarian, or that it has been blessed by a rabbi. It does refer to the ingredients of the food, and the method of preparation and serving (down to the utensils used). At first glance, it doesn't seem that complicated. The law is clear about what animals are kosher, and which are not. However, when you don't control the ingredients (manufactured foods, or eating in restaurants, for example), it could become trickier. Many organizations certify that the ingredients and preparation of the food meets the standards, and they have developed a mostly standardized way of labeling the packaging. Also, when you get down to beverages like wine and food additives like gelatin, it seems to become a bit more complicated as well. To an outsider, terms such as fleishik, milchik and pareve may not be a common part of vocabulary. Luckily there are a few glossaries online!

An article covering the basics can be found at the Judaisim 101 site.

No comments: